top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTuyen Nguyen

Poster 2: GENESIS

Haiku:

Spring night,

Cherry ~

Blossom Dawn

Matsuo Basho

Activity This is the first poster for Design 101 class assessment in the first half-semester. Thoughts on Haiku In the second poster, it is all about making a movie poster based on the haiku. There were many words, concepts, and movie reference that pops up in mind.


Choices to make After done some researches on some story, movie content, and movie posters themself; there two ideas stood out amongst all in my mind. -Genesis: The beginning of all. A documented genre movie shows the theories and processes on the creation of the universe -Genesis: A priest who self-exclaimed that he represents God to bring back the moral order. From those, I apply all the knowledge in Design classes and those extra reading to help me in drawing out the best compositions for titles, actors, credit, and the images to represent the movie.


Technique and making process For this poster, digital use seems to almost necessary since the movie poster requires a good quality of images. Besides, the digital front is commonly used for movie titles as fonts are they are a crucial element in the design process, a movie promotional kit, typography could represent all of the first visual impacts. When designing a movie poster, it is often essential to put as much information into as small of a space as possible (Henri, 2019). So I put out different versions for my movie poster to see what attract people eyes as well as deliver the messages of the movie content. After that, I give out for people to review and give feedback to it. One useful feedback was from my teachers in Design class on my salience effect and color scheme.



Final poster In the end, many changes were applied and put into my movie poster to represents the movie better. Also, everything needs to be original, so I have to put away some of the internet images to create my copyright poster. Here is my final poster.


P/S: This probably is the hardest part of the assessment since there are so many things I need to learn, from color management, compositions to give out the message and draw audience eyes but it was entertaining to experience something new and put up a challenge for myself.

REFERENCE:

Henri, 2019 - 45 Extra Bold Fonts for Movie Poster Title. Available from: https://bashooka.com/freebie/extra-bold-fonts-for-movie-poster-title/ (Accessed 9 April 2020)


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page